Sign In Forgot Password

Adult Education - Torah Trope: Winter Session

Past Sessions
Wednesday, March 30, 2022 27 Adar II 5782 - 11:45 AM - 1:00 PM
Wednesday, March 23, 2022 20 Adar II 5782 - 11:45 AM - 1:00 PM
Wednesday, March 16, 2022 13 Adar II 5782 - 11:45 AM - 1:00 PM
Wednesday, March 9, 2022 6 Adar II 5782 - 11:45 AM - 1:00 PM
Wednesday, March 2, 2022 29 Adar I 5782 - 11:45 AM - 1:00 PM
Wednesday, February 23, 2022 22 Adar I 5782 - 11:45 AM - 1:00 PM
Wednesday, February 16, 2022 15 Adar I 5782 - 11:45 AM - 1:00 PM
Wednesday, February 9, 2022 8 Adar I 5782 - 11:45 AM - 1:00 PM
Wednesday, February 2, 2022 1 Adar I 5782 - 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM
Wednesday, January 26, 2022 24 Shevat 5782 - 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM


Learn to read (leyn) Torah! We will learn about why Torah is read with cantillation (trope), and then learn the trope itself. Each student will learn a short (3-4 verse) aliyah to read at Shabbat morning services in late 2021 or early 2022 (recordings will be provided for studying). Mallory is an experienced Jewish educator who is currently pursuing a Master in Jewish Education at the Jewish Theological Seminary. She has tutored b'nai mitzvah students at the HEA since 2017 and serves as Ritual Coordinator for the congregation, teaching and supporting lay leaders in reading Torah. You will often find Mallory layning (reading from the) Torah on Shabbat mornings. She has learned 5 of the 6 musical systems for cantillation (trope) -- Torah, Haftarah, Esther, Eicha, and High Holiday -- as well as Shirat HaYam, and looks forward to learning Regalim soon. A lifelong member of the HEA, Mallory learned Torah and Haftarah trope from Cantor Marty Goldstein.

Register

For scholarship information, contact Rabbi Grinsteiner at sgrinsteiner@headenver.org.
Share Print Save To My Calendar
Thu, May 19 2022 18 Iyyar 5782